EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

[ NEWS ]

  Latest News
  Awards / Group Photos
  Media Room
EAA AirVenture Oshkosh RSS FeedJames Baldwin to Receive EAA's Tony Bingelis Award

Bingelis award winner James Baldwin pictured with his Van’s RV6 – the second of the type ever to fly.

James Baldwin, of Pickerington, Ohio, will receive the Experimental Aircraft Association's 2010 Tony Bingelis Award recognizing his many contributions to EAA and the aviation community.

Baldwin (EAA 110713) has dedicated more than 60 years to the aviation community, encouraging builders and their projects as well as promoting aviation safety. As a frequent contributor to EAA Chapter 443's monthly newsletter, Baldwin has reported on his EAA Technical Counselor visits and has made himself available at each chapter meeting for an open forum of dialogue.

Since becoming a tech counselor in 1993, Baldwin has conducted sheet metal construction workshops at the Mideast Regional Fly-In, been a flight line safety volunteer at AirVenture, and has advised many builders in Ohio on construction, design, and weight and balance.

A retired aeronautical engineer for North American Rockwell, Baldwin has performed several weight-and-balance programs over the years. He's also provided 332 youths with their first flight through the EAA Young Eagles program, and helped send 18 youths to the EAA Air Academy in Oshkosh.

Baldwin, who received his private pilot certificate the day before he reported to the U.S. Air Force in 1948, built the second Van's RV6 kit to ever fly in 1989, then built an RV10 in 2007. Baldwin has also owned and maintained several aircraft, including a BC12D Taylorcraft and three Cessnas, 140, 120, and 170. Baldwin has invested time in rebuilding and maintaining aircraft owned by The Historical Aircraft Squadron in Lancaster, Ohio, most notably a Mitchell B-25 and Douglas B-26.

Baldwin will receive the Bingelis award during the annual Homebuilder's Dinner on Thursday, July 29, during AirVenture. Tickets for the dinner will be available at Homebuilder's Headquarters on the EAA grounds.

The Tony Bingelis Award was created in 2002 to recognize a member from the aviation community who has contributed to homebuilt projects and safety promotion while maintaining EAA values. The award honors the late Tony Bingelis, who was noted as a homebuilding authority and EAA Sport Aviation columnist.

FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy