EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

Bookmark and Share    

[ NEWS ]

  Latest News
  Awards / Group Photos
  Media Room
EAA AirVenture Oshkosh RSS Feed Help honor National GA Award winners tonight

Four aviation professionals have been named recipients of the 48th annual National GA Awards and will be honored in a special awards ceremony at AirVenture Oshkosh 2011. Honorees include Joe Morales, Lakewood, Colorado, Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year; Russ Callender, Houlton, Wisconsin, Avionics Technician of the Year; MCFI-Aerobatic Judy Phelps, Santa Paula, California, CFI of the Year; and MCFI Vicki Sherman, DeLand, Florida, FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year.

Each received an all-expenses paid trip for two to Oshkosh to attend the awards presentation and other GA Awards activities.

“These awards highlight the important role played by these individuals in promoting aviation education and flight safety,” said JoAnn Hill, General Aviation Awards Committee chairperson. “The awards program sponsors and supporters are pleased that these outstanding aviation professionals will receive the recognition they so richly deserve before their peers in Oshkosh.”

Joe Morales
Joe Morales
Russ Callender
Russ Callender
Judy Phelps
Judy Phelps
Vicki Sherman
Vicki Sherman

2011 National AMT of the Year
A resident of Lakewood, Colorado, Joe Morales is the quality control manager and repair station chief inspector for Doss Aviation, Inc. at the United States Air Force Academy. Doss maintains more than 50 aircraft in support of various academy flight training activities. Joe is an A&P/IA and a CFI. A member of the AMT Society and AOPA, he is a FAASTeam representative and a captain in the Civil Air Patrol. He represented the Denver FSDO area.

2011 National Avionics Technician of the Year
Russ Callender is a resident of Houlton, Wisconsin, and owns RC Avionics Inc. located on the Anoka County-Blaine Airport (ANE) in Blaine, Minnesota. He holds a private pilot certificate, a repairman certificate, and has been servicing aircraft for more than 30 years. A member of the Aircraft Electronics Association (AEA), AOPA, and EAA, he specializes in computer drafting and redesign of aircraft instrument panels. Russ represented the Minneapolis FSDO area as well as the FAA’s Great Lakes Region.

National CFI of the Year
Judy Phelps is a three-time Master CFI-Aerobatic. Specializing in spin, tailwheel, and emergency maneuver training, she also instructs private, commercial, and instrument students with CP Aviation at Santa Paula Airport (SZP). A member of AOPA, EAA, SAFE, and Women in Aviation, she is a FAASTeam representative and volunteers with the Ninety Nines as well as the International Aerobatic Club (IAC). Judy represented the Van Nuys FSDO area as well as the FAA’s Western Pacific Region.

National FAAST Representative of the Year
A three-time Master CFI from DeLand, Florida, Vicki Sherman is a flight, ground, and simulator instructor who sponsors and teaches WINGS seminars. Since 1992, she has been a crewmember at the FAA Production Studios in Lakeland. A member of AOPA, SAFE, EAA, and Women in Aviation, she is a past international president of the Ninety Nines and volunteers with the National Aviation Safety Foundation. She is one of 3,000 volunteer aviators who serve as FAASTeam representatives in the FAA’s safety program nationwide. Vicki represented the Orlando/North Florida FSDO area and the FAA’s Southern Region.

Support and sponsorship for the GA Awards program is provided by WAI, SAFE, PAMA, NBAA, NASAO, NATA, GAMA, FAA, EAA, AMT Society, AOPA, ARSA, and AEA. Additional support is being provided by Advocates for Aviation Safety Foundation (AASF), Aeronautical Proficiency Training LLC (AVTrain), Master Instructors LLC (MI LLC), National Aviation Safety Foundation (NASF), and Rich Stowell Consulting.


FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy